Tom

Standard

In season one’s episode “Squeeze”, one of my favorite scenes is this exchange between Mulder and Tom Colton:

“So Mulder, what do you think? Does this look like the work of little green men?”
“Grey.”
“Excuse me.”
“Grey. You said green men. A Reticulan skin tone is actually grey. They’re notorious for their extraction of terrestrial human livers, due to iron depletion in the Reticulan galaxy.”
“You can’t be serious.”
“Do you have any idea what liver and onions go for on Reticula?”

I absolutely loved that Mulder was “yanking his chains” right from the start, sensing that Colton was probably going to be a prick about the case, and as we all know, he turned out to be exactly that. I had a blast writing “Tom” back in 2009, not only because I liked the challenge of writing from a secondary character’s point of view, but also because I enjoyed writing his observations about Mulder and Scully at that early stage in their relationship. And if I’m being perfectly honest, I had a blast getting the chance to *be* Tom and act like a jerk! <g>

Tom

 

2 thoughts on “Tom

  1. Lenore

    You also have one of my favorite moments in there: when Tom asks Scully whose side she’s on and she says “The victim’s.”

    • I like that line too! There are a lot of classic lines and scenes in that episode. I also liked it when Scully told Mulder that he was acting territorial, and he replied with “Of course, I was.” I was also glad they had Tooms as a follow-up episode because Tooms was such an interesting and creepy character…plus we got to hear the classic line from Scully, “Mulder, I wouldn’t put myself on the line for anybody but you.”

Leave a Reply

