Kate

Standard

“Kate” was originally posted in 2004 and is probably one of the most romantic fanfic stories I’ve ever written. It tells the story of Mulder and Scully, Kate and Robert, and Fox and Kate. Although I know that most people don’t like to read stories that have either Mulder or Scully in a relationship with someone else, I still wanted to explore that possibility so I decided to tackle it from a different angle and explore Mulder’s relationship with Kate when the two of them were in high school. Shifting from Mulder’s thoughts and Kate’s thoughts, along with showing flashbacks of what their high school romance was like was something I very much enjoyed. I also wrote this story not only because I wanted to show what Mulder was like as a teenager, but because I wanted to give his life some normalcy. His life wasn’t always filled with conspiracies and hidden agendas, and I thought it would be nice to see him in a sweet and innocent relationship with Kate and be with someone who understood and supported him. This isn’t one of my more well-known or popular stories that I’ve written, but it makes me feel good about love and ALWAYS makes me smile when I read it. I hope you enjoy rereading this story as much as I do.

Kate.

Susan, the romantic

2 thoughts on “Kate

  1. Lenore

    Sometimes it’s just so refreshing to read a sweet/bittersweet story about love. That first love, with all its excitement and promise and drama, and a more lasting love, deep enough to withstand choppy waters. This story gives us the best of both. Kate and Robert feel as real to me as Mulder and Scully do. Beautiful job. (I’m sure I read it in 2004, but my memory is terrible, so it was new to me!)

    • I’m so pleased to read your comment about Kate and Robert. Whenever I’m able to create secondary characters that *aren’t* Mulder and Scully and still have my readers accept them, it makes me feel great.:)

Leave a Reply

